Monday, November 9, 2015

Giveaway - A Small Indiscretion - Jan Ellison

 Jan Ellison's debut novel A Small Indiscretion was released at the beginning of this year. It has received great reviews and been chosen as an Oprah’s Book Club 2.0 Editor’s Pick, San Francisco Chronicle Book Club pick, and has received wonderful reviews from USA Today, Flavor Wire, The Rumpus and many more.

If you've missed it first time round, no worries. The paperback releases at the top of next year. But - I have a signed copy to giveaway to one lucky reader now!

From the publisher, Random House:

"Fans of Everything I Never Told You and The Girl on the Train will devour this page-turning literary debut about a harrowing coming-of-age and a marriage under siege from O. Henry Prize winner Jan Ellison.

At nineteen, Annie Black abandons California for a London winter of drinking to oblivion and looking for love in the wrong places. Twenty years later, she is a happily married mother of three living in San Francisco. Then one morning, a photograph arrives in her mailbox, and an old obsession is awakened.

After a return trip to London, Annie’s marriage falters, her store floods, and her son, Robbie, takes a night-time ride that nearly costs him his life. Now Annie must fight to save her family by untangling the mysteries of that reckless winter in Europe that drew an invisible map of her future.

With the brilliant pacing and emotional precision that won Jan Ellison an O. Henry Prize for her first published story, A Small Indiscretion announces a major new voice in suspense fiction as it unfolds a story of denial, obsession, love, forgiveness—and one woman’s reckoning with her own fateful mistakes." Read an excerpt of A Small Indiscretion.

"Jan Ellison is a graduate of Stanford University and San Francisco State University’s MFA Program. She has published award-winning short fiction, and was the recipient of a 2007 O. Henry Prize for her first story to appear in print. Her work has also been shortlisted for Best American Short Stories and the Pushcart Prize. She lives in Northern California with her husband and their four children. A Small Indiscretion is her first book." You can keep up with Jan Ellison on Facebook and on Twitter.

Sound like a book you'd like to read? One copy to giveaway - open to US, no PO boxes please. Ends November 21/15. Enter using the Rafflecopter form below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

11 comments:

rhonda said...

I've h are a lot about this book.Would love to read it

skkorman said...

I would love to read this intriguing book—thanks for the opportunity to win a copy!

skkorman AT bellsouth DOT net

rhonda said...

Meant heard😍

traveler said...

Thanks for this compelling giveaway. saubleb(at)gmail(dot)com

TarheelFIT1 said...

This sounds like a fascinating, suspenseful read!

Grandma Cootie said...

This looks like a new author to follow. Thanks.

Sue Farrell said...

The trouble some youthful mistakes can cause years later----sounds like a good book. Thanks for the contest.

JJT said...

Sounds great.

D Johnson said...

I would love to read it.

Kimberly V said...

I would love to read this book! It sounds like it would be a wonderful read.

Annie said...

Sounds like a great read!