Monday, October 20, 2008

À La Cart - Hillary Carlip

--The Secret Lives of Grocery Shoppers --

Okay, this was just one of those absolutely quirky fun books I had to share.

Hillary Carlip started collecting shopping lists she found as a teenager. This book is the result of that collection. She has taken each list and based on the items listed, the notepaper used and the handwriting, has concocted a story for the twenty six lists in the book. If that wasn't enough, she then becomes each character and is photographed in a shopping environment that matches the list. The transformations are quite spectacular. Take a look at the cover again - those are all Carlip!

Fans of Tracey Ullman or The Office would appreciate the humour in this book!

7 comments:

bermudaonion said...

What a funny concept for a book!

Shooting Stars Mag said...

I really want to check this out. It does sound very quirky and fun. :)
Hilary is super nice as well!

-Lauren

Hagelrat said...

odd idea, quite fun tho.

Cindy said...

I will have to check this one out. Looks really funny. Gee and here I throw away my grocery lists. LOL

Shana @ Literarily said...

Luanne, this book looks so interesting. I love the cover - that woman with the tatoos, cool!

Lenore said...

Definitely looks fun :)

Luanne said...

Mrs. Kenneth's comment was deleted as it was a direct link to a Viagra site, disguised as a humour comment.