Saturday, December 26, 2015

You Can't Judge A Book By Its Cover # 85

- You can't judge a book by its cover - which is very true. 
 But you can like one cover version better than another.....

US cover
UK cover
The Widow is Fiona Barton's debut novel. The promo phrase "For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife" has landed this one on my TBR list. The US cover ( Feb 16) is on the left and the UK cover (Jan 14)  is on the right. There's quite a difference between the two in terms of light and dark. The font for the title is somewhat the same. The blurry woman running on the US cover hints at danger. But the UK cover is quite ominous looking. And as always, the UK includes a tag line. This week I'm going with the UK cover. Which cover do you prefer? Any plans to read The Widow?
You Can't Judge A Book By Its Cover is a regular Saturday feature
at A Bookworm's World.


Debbie said...

At first I thought the U.S. Cover, but the more I look at it the more I am intrigued by the UK cover. So....I'm going to have to go with the UK!

TarheelFIT1 said...

I find the flowers on the dark UK cover very intriguing, so it's UK this week for me, too! It's more of a stand out than the US.

Mrs Suvi said...

I like the US cover - it makes me think the book will be quite a thriller. I haven't come across this before, but it does sound interesting. So will look into it, thanks :)

Icewineanne said...

Really different covers. The US one suggests a novel set in either fall or winter, while the UK cover seems to have more of a summer night feel to it. I love the UK tagline, it's very enticing, but I also love the uncluttered look of the US cover. For me, it's a draw.