Wednesday, January 5, 2011

Love Me To Death - Allison Brennan - Review & Giveaway

Allison Brennan is an author I'd definitely heard of, (she's a New York Times bestselling author) but one I'd not had a chance to read yet.

Love Me to Death is the first in a series that will feature Lucy Kincaid. This book picks up 6 years after Lucy was horrifically attacked and almost killed by a man she met online. Rather than hide away from the world after her terrible experience, she has decided to join the FBI. She specifically wants to target on-line predators. Until she has final acceptance from the Bureau, Lucy volunteers with a victim's rights group, tracking predators in chat rooms and passing on the information to the police.

When the predators that Lucy identifies start turning up dead, as does her attacker's partner, suspicion is turned on Lucy herself.  With the help of her brothers' security partner, Sean Rogan, she sets out to find the truth, danger be damned.

Lucy is an interesting choice for a protagonist, in that she is very young and not fully a member of the law establishment yet. I liked her and think Brennan has a solid character to build further books on. The premise of the plot is certainly current - cyber predators are a real and current threat. (Some readers may find the crimes described a bit too graphic) The action is definitely fast paced, there are lots of twists and turns and some red herrings that will keep you on your toes.

There are numerous references to the case in which Lucy was attacked, which was no problem. Where I did have a problem was keeping track of the huge cast of supporting characters. The references to this brother and that brother did confuse me. I think if I had read the previous book (Fear No Evil), I would have been a little more up to speed.

Love Me to Death is described on the cover as a novel of suspense - and yes it is. But I think romantic suspense is a better descriptor. The romantic and sexual tension smolders between Sean and Lucy and is a large part of the book.

Fans of Iris Johansen and Tami Hoag would enjoy Allison Brennan.

Check out what the other stops on the TLC tour  think of Love Me to Death.

The second book in the Lucy Kincaid series is due out Feb 22/11. If you'd like to read Love me to Death, I have a copy to giveaway courtesy of the publisher Ballantine Books. Open to the US and Canada, simply comment to be entered. Ends Sat. Jan 29/11 at 6 pm EST.

85 comments:

Kaye said...

I read Allison's Killing Fear and liked it a lot. This new one sounds good.

florida982002[at]yahoo.com

DarcyO said...

Sounds like a winner. Please include me.

dlodden at frontiernet dot net

debbie said...

Mysteries are one of my favorite genres, and this one sounds quite good. I would love to read it.
twoofakind12@yahoo.com

Linda Henderson said...

This sounds like a good one, I would love to read it.

seriousreader at live dot com

Fokxxy said...

definitely sounds like something I would love to death ;)

Please enter me

ssummmer(at)gmail(dot)com

Kay said...

I've meant to read this author for quite a while. I think she normally writets trilogies. Is the prevous book part of a trilogy? (says me the anal-retentive series-in-order reader)

janezfan(at)yahoo(dot)com

PoCoKat said...

Sounds like a great book..please enter me.

littleone AT shaw DOT ca

pinkflipflops said...

this sounds like something right up my alley.. i am adding it to my TBR pile now!

Zoë said...

this book soudns really interesting I'd love to read it!

strandedhero(at)gmail(dot)com

Crystal said...

I love Allison Brennan and this one sounds really good.

crystalfulcher(at)ec.rr.com

Allison Brennan said...

Thank you Luanne for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed my book.

To respond to Kay's question, Love Me To Death is the first book of the Lucy Kincaid series. It's not part of a trilogy. It is loosely connected to the No Evil trilogy, which introduced Lucy's family, the Kincaid's. It should stand on it's own. I'm currently writing the third book in the series, and hope to have many more!

chey said...

This sounds like a book I want to read!
chey127 at hotmail dot com

Heather said...

This sounds like a book I would enjoy! Thanks for the chance to win!
ra6352 (at) gmail (dot) com

bermudaonion said...

I haven't read a lot of romantic suspense, but I do enjoy it from time to time.

donnas said...

Sounds great. Thanks for the chance!!

bacchus76 at myself dot com

TheCuttingEtch said...

I would love some new reading material!
thecuttingetch1 at yahoo dot com

Shirley said...

This sounds interesting and is a genre I enjoy. Please include me.

holdenj said...

This sounds like a good book and I love to read mysteries! Thanks for the info and chance to win.
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

Martha Lawson said...

Ilove her books and I would love to be entered to win this one.

gfc follower

mlawson17 at hotmail dot com

Meredith said...

Sounds like a great book! Thanks for the chance to win!

meredithfl at gmail dot com

Judy H said...

I love thrillers!

headlessfowl at gmail dot com

Linda Kish said...

This sounds exciting. Count me in, please.

lkish77123 at gmail dot com

Morgan said...

I would love to read this. Please count me in!

mverno said...

i'll take a chance mverno@roadrunner.com

coliebear said...

I am always looking for a new romance/suspense book to read.
lenz.nicole(at)gmail(dot)com

binabug said...

last suspense I read was Cherry Adairs on thin ice

McKim said...

I'm always looking for another good book to read.

Nicole C. said...

I would love to read this book.

choateorama(at)gmail(dot)com

CarolNWong said...

I love romantic suspense and books that involve the federal government like this one. I am currently reading 'The Crimson Cipher' which belongs in this catergory too. Would to love win this one.

CarolNWong(at)aol(dot)com

linett said...

would love to read this, thanks

a real librarian said...

Thanks for the chance to win!!

areallibrarian[at]gmail[dot]com

mike draper said...

This is a well written review, not only giving good points about the plot but informing the reader of other authors who might be comparable.
Well done.
Mike

Jeannine said...

I just discovered this writer and so far have loved all her books


mellanhead74 at hotmail.com

tattwo said...

I love a good suspense thriller. Thanks.

Brent said...

Sounds cool. Please enter me

Janice Crespo said...

Thanks for the chance! Unfortunately, in this day and age, this could really happen :(
janicecrespo@gmail.com

rubynreba said...

Sounds like a very good book!
pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

Mishel (P.S. I Love Books) said...

I've heard of Allison before but haven't had the chance to read her either. I'd love to start with this one =)

Thanks for the giveaway.

mishtakes AT gmail DOT com

sweetsue said...

I am interested in this subject because a friend of mine is being stalked by a man she met online.
smchester at gmail dot com

missreneer said...

This looks like an interesting read. Thanks for the great review and giveaway :)

mrsjohnson1982 at yahoo dot com

Maureen said...

It looks like an exciting story.
mce1011 AT aol DOT com

Aubrey said...

This book sounds very good! I would love to read it!

Andria said...

I would love a chance to win. Thank you.

Lisa Pecora said...

I would love a chance to read this!

Peachesncream887(at)hotmail(dot)com

clynsg said...

Brennan is one of those authors that I pick up automatically.

cgclynsg0 at gmail dot com

Ruthie said...

I have not heard of this author but I am a big fan of Tami Hoag so I know I would like this one! Please enter me, thanks.

ruthiekb72ATyahooDOTcom

PaulineMilner said...

Sounds like a great book to add to my ever growing collection.

Thanks for the giveaway.

dod@rogers.com

moonsword said...

Thanks for the review. I haven't read anything by Allison Brennan but I think I must pick this up...sounds great!

Anonymous said...

Love This Author, particularly this Series. Thanks for the giveaway.
-Vonda

2much2reid {at} comcast {dot} net

Becca said...

I have never heard of this author but the book sounds great. Thanks for the chance!

shanaelyse said...

Awesome--I am addicted to suspense books!

shanaelyse@gmail.com

ktgonyea said...

Sounds wonderful :)

ktgonyea at gmail.com

winnie said...

Thanks for the giveaway! Please count me in!

chibipooh(at)gmail(dot)com

vmkids said...

count me in to win

Anonymous said...

I would like to read this book--I like series books because you get to know the characters better in multiple books.

farrell@crosslake.net

Pat said...

I like romantic suspense and this book sounds great.
pkildow at gmail dot com

Sandra said...

Oooh...this one sounds good. Would love to win a copy.
sandra.antunovic@sympatico.ca

Misusedinnocence said...

This sounds great I would love to read it!

misusedinnocence@aol.com

1335sj said...

Sounds Great!

AEKZ2 said...

I'd love to read this.

annettekz2@yahoo.com

Jenn S. said...

Sounds like something I would enjoy.

jas8929 at gmail dot com

bison61 said...

romantic suspense - that sounds good!

tiramisu392 (at) yahoo.com

Swedish said...

Sounds like a good thriller... The protagonist seems like a strong female character; my favourite kind of book. Please accept this as my entry. Thank you!

Aliya D.
aliyadaya(at)shaw(dot)ca

ryleesgran said...

I love to read suspense books

mjmeeks5@netscape.net

linett said...

Love her books, thanks

Nickolay said...

I have heard awesome things about Allison and would love to read one of her books

jason(at)allworldautomotive(dot)com

tallcapp said...

This series sounds like it would turn into one I would want to follow. I would like this book.

Anonymous said...

Would love to read this.
shawnac68@hotmail.com

Sylvia said...

I'm just picking up reading again after taking a few years off (not my choice, just got busy). Sounds like a great read! Thanks for the opportunity!

sylver_1982 (at) yahoo (dot) com

dvice12 said...

This looks great

Heather said...

I think this sounds amazing! A lesson about people you meet online and a great path this woman takes!
heatherpooh (hotmail)

ezmerelda said...

I've read several of the author's books and really enjoyed them. This sounds like another one to add to my list.

ezmerelda(AT)mail(DOT)com

purango said...

It sounds like a great book. I would love to read it. Thanks. garrettsambo@aol.com

susansmoaks said...

i would love to read this book
susansmoaks at gmail dot com

Melissa B. said...

I'm desperate for some new reading material. Please send this my way!

Diane52 said...

Soundslike an exciting and interesting read-thank you
Diane Baum
esldiane@gmail.com

MAC Mom said...

I would love to read this book. I've dreamed of joining the FBI I'd like to read about it.

Jesskaufman at hotmail dot com

crystalf said...

I love her books. thanks for the giveaway!!

jim.coyne2 said...

i love a good thriller

jim.coyne2@verizon.net

flychild7 said...

I love a good Thiller book, count me in

flychild7(at)gmail(dot)com

lknott said...

I am in need of a mystery! Have not read any of her writings. The dark nights of winter offer time to read. Thanks for the giveaway!!!




lknott@partnercom.net

Atreau said...

I'm really excited to read this book!

Stephanie Bruce said...

I have not read either book but would love to

Rhonda said...

I am a huge mystery fan and would like to read this.

rhondastruthers atyahoo.ca

fatseal said...

This book sounds great

fatseal13 at hotmail dot com