Wednesday, August 19, 2009

The Doomsday Key - James Rollins


Sigma Force returns in The Doomsday Key, new from Harper Collins Canada.

Commander Gray Pierce and his Sigma team are sent to investigate when three murders on three continents are linked. All the victims were branded with a Druid symbol. A discovery in a peat bog in England is unthinkably tied to a bio tech company producing genetically modified seeds and crops. The bio tech company - Viatus- has revived something that may have been better off left buried in the past. Gray and his team race around the world to discover the key - the Doomsday Key - that may be the only way to stopping Viatus and saving the world.

Rollins writes non stop adventure with lots of action. His characters are bigger than life and twice as tough. There are sub plots involving interpersonal relationships, but the book is plot driven. What's intriguing is the appendix at the end of the book - Truth or Fiction. Many of the story lines Rollins uses in his plots are true. Fascinatingly and frighteningly true, combining modern day science and the mysteries of the past.

If you're looking for a rollicking adventure tale, you'd be hard pressed to beat Rollins.

Fans of Steve Berry and Clive Cussler would enjoy James Rollins.

2 comments:

bermudaonion said...

I love a good rollicking adventure, yet I've never read any of the authors you mentioned.

carolsnotebook said...

Another author that's been on my to-read list, but I just haven't gotten around to yet. One of these days...